30th Annual Local Roads Conference

Tuesday, October 20, 2015
1:00-5:00 UAV Road Assessment Demo Handouts Unavailable
1:00-5:00 Temporary Traffic Control Measures & Safety Issues on Low Volume Roads Handouts Unavailable
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
8:00-8:15 Welcome, Announcements & Introductions
8:15-8:45 Important Updates on Research Relevant to Local Roads
David Huft, Director of Research, SDDOT
8:45-9:15 UAV Research Update
Michigan Tech Research Team
9:15-9:45 Break and Exhibit Booth Visits
9:45-10:15 "You Show Us" Awards
Nöel Clocksin, SDDOT
Award Information
10:15‑11:30 Panel Reversion of Pavement to Gravel Surfacing
Ken Skorseth & Chuck Fromelt, SD LTAP
Dirk Rogers, Brown County South Dakota Highway Superintendent
Brad Wentz, NDSU UGPTI
Fromelt Handouts
Wentz Handouts
11:30-1:00 Lunch
1:00-2:00 Temporary Traffic Control Measures on Gravel Roads
Bruce Drewes, 3T Group
2:00-2:45 Local Bridges on Shallow Foundations
Daniel Alzamora, PE, FHWA
Time-lapse Video
2:45-3:15 Break and Exhibit Booth Visits
3:15-4:00 ROW - Legal Issues
Aaron Birst, NDACo Legal Counsel
4:00-5:00 2-D Motor Grader Machine Grade Control - Into the Future
Jason Pearson, RDO
Phil Melmer, Butler
Jeff Haessig, Spink South Dakota County Highway Superintendent
Kerry Johnson, Barnes County North Dakota Highway Superintendent
5:30-8:00 Conference Celebration "30 Years"
Dinner, provided
Exhibit Booth Visits
Thursday, October 22, 2015
8:00-8:45 Attitudes are Contagious
Jamie Smith, Highway Department Administrative Assistant, Barnes County, ND
8:45-9:30 Winter Survival
Don Moseman, ND Safety Council
Winter Driving Supply Checklist
9:30-10:00 Break & Exhibitor Booth Visits
10:00‑10:30 Truck Weight Calculator
Leanna Emmer, ND LTAP Circuit Rider
10:30-11:30 Panel - What Happens When Industry Comes Moves in?
Dust Abatement in Johnson County: Scott Pehrine, Wyoming
Oil: Mike Zimmerman, Dunn County North Dakota Highway Superintendent
Wind Generation: Kevin Barta, Knox County Nebraska Highway Superintendent and Gary Connot, Holt County Nebraska Highway Superintendent
Agribusiness: Raymond Roggow, Union County, South Dakota Highway Superintendent
11:30-12:00 Conference Wrap Up & Door Prizes